Japanese Gardening Organization

AMAZON SUPPORTS JGO!

Make sure your Amazon purchases benefit JGO and its programs. Enter "Japanese Gardening Organization" here: http://smile.amazon.com/about.

resources for japanese gardening 日本の園芸

Author Topic: How, why are you a member of this JGO foum?  (Read 4077 times)

pstanton

• Niwashi Hyaku
  • NE - USA z4
How, why are you a member of this JGO foum?
« on: October 10, 2016, 09:58:16 PM »
For the origin of this topic see "Feeling the berm" in the Projects sub forum.

Trying to remember how this came about.  Equivalent question would be how, why, when even where did I become interested or even aware of J. Gardening? What are you trying to accomplish in JG?

Very young I knew I was a Japanophile, preteen, I was a woodworker carpenter and such also from youth and earned my living that way off and on throughout my life.  This lead to an interest in Japanese woodworking, tools and architecture.

At some point in the 60s I obtained a copy of  Japanese Homes and Their Surroundings by Edward S. Morse, a Dover book.  I read and reread this book and expanded my collection of books on this subject with The Japanese House: A Tradition for Contemporary Architecture by Heinrich Engel. I began collecting and using Japanese woodworking tools.

Those books are long gone, the tools I still have and use.  Somewhere in this time I got Landscape Gardening in Japan by Josiah Conder, which I still have and use.  The images in that book are the first images of Japanese Gardens I ever saw.  Black and white photographs poorly reproduced, but they where enough to spark a life long interest.

These images evoked a feeling, not sure how to describe this feeling but it was a good feeling.  And if poor quality two dimensional black and white photographs of these gardens evoked a feeling, what would the actual experience do?