Japanese Gardening Organization

AMAZON SUPPORTS JGO!

Make sure your Amazon purchases benefit JGO and its programs. Enter "Japanese Gardening Organization" here: http://smile.amazon.com/about.

resources for japanese gardening 日本の園芸

Author Topic: My Pittsburgh Project  (Read 5070 times)

Geoffrey

• Niwashi
    • My homepage
My Pittsburgh Project
« on: May 31, 2011, 06:00:14 PM »
Greetings -

I have been spending time in the forum reading through many of the posts and taking advantage of the wealth of knowledge here.  I was born and raised in Massachusetts, but I now live in Pittsburgh which is great because I work as a bridge engineer, and we have lots of bridges here.

I have long admired the Japanese sense of design in general and Japanese gardens in particular. At the end of last winter I decided to bite the bullet, and commit to converting my back yard to a Japanese style garden.

I was fortunate to find a designer (Alison Beeghly at MTRLA) who came up with a super design (see below). Her major design driver was the need to overcome the dominating mass of the house.  She accomplished this by careful alignment of the sight lines.  One feature that I am particularly fond of is her integration of the machiai (my "cedar bus stop") into the stone wall (which serves as its foundation).

Because April and May have been so rainy here, things have been going slowly.  I have an excavator sitting in my backyard, boulders in my neighbor's yard, parts of stone lanterns strewn about, bamboo and cedar everywhere, and 25 tons of turkey grit on order.

I look forward to any comments or questions members may have.  You can be sure that I will be asking for specific input as things progress.  If anyone wishes to see them, I have been taking pictures.

For higher resolution:
http://geoffreygoldberg.com/garden/Goldberg_Japanese_Garden_Plan_.jpg

For higher resolution:
http://geoffreygoldberg.com/garden/Goldberg_Plant_Schedule.pdf