Japanese Gardening Organization

AMAZON SUPPORTS JGO!

Make sure your Amazon purchases benefit JGO and its programs. Enter "Japanese Gardening Organization" here: http://smile.amazon.com/about.

resources for japanese gardening 日本の園芸

Author Topic: Hello from Wilton, New Hampshire, USA  (Read 4973 times)

JBaymore

• Wilton, NH USA (Zone 4-5)
  • Niwashi
    • My New Hampshire Institute of Art Faculty Page
Hello from Wilton, New Hampshire, USA
« on: June 29, 2010, 10:51:47 AM »
Hi all.  I'm very glad I found this forum.  I look forward to learning a lot here from you all.  I already have from just starting reading some of the existing threads.

I am a professional ceramic artist and adjunct professor of ceramics with a long term interest in Japan and Japanese arts and culture.  I yeach studio ceramics classes as well as a "History of Japanese Ceramics" course.  I make Chadogu, cook a lot of Japanese type foods, study Iaido, and am a very casual practitioner of Chanoyu.  I speak survival ???? Over the years I've spent a bit of time in Japan making pots, exhibiting, and building wood fired kilns.  My work is in a few public collections over there.

I have a small (about 30-40 feet by about 70-80 feet) Japanese-style (a deliberate distinction there) garden in front of my home and studio, and a 4 1/2 matt washitsu heya in a section of my house that faces onto the garden area. 

The distinction above is because I have no formal training in the garden art form, and I have followed my "gut" more than the formal rules of garden design.  I've used a few books for reference, but have not tied myself too tightly to any one "style".  It is far more my own interprestation of Japanese design sense.

Look forward to meeting you all.

best,

.................john

Steve

• North Texas
  • Niwashi Hyaku
Re: Hello from Wilton, New Hampshire, USA
« Reply #1 on: June 29, 2010, 12:42:49 PM »